Advisory Committee on Problem Gambling Legislative workgroup update 11/2020

The Legislative Subcommittee has not met due to the need for proposed direction for PG lobbying from ACPG as well as election results. Items for discussion moving forward include but are not limited to the following: priorities, budget, funding sources, lobbyist, Legislative sponsorship, subcommittee membership and General Fund.

This will be a challenging year for all funding but through the lobbying and advocacy efforts of the problem gambling community, not only do we have increased DHHS awareness but the legislative body as a whole is aware of the importance of treatment and education surrounding problem gambling addiction.

I look forward to meeting with the subcommittee in early December - meeting date TBD. The Legislative Subcommittee currently includes: Stephanie Goodman, Alan Feldman, Connie Jones, Carol O'Hare, Denise Quirk, Ted Hartwell and Dr. Rory Reid.